What We Do

Less than a decade separates us from irreversible damage from climate change. Despite consensus that climate change is real and a majority of Canadians wishing to see fossil fuel phased out, oil and gas companies – and their allies – are stymying meaningful climate action. Disinformation is blurring our collective understanding of the issues and solutions to this crisis. To address it, we must bridge the knowledge gap and combat the sense of powerlessness instilled by this continued obstruction of the democratic will.

Launched in 2020, the Greenpeace Canada Education Fund seeks to deepen our collective understanding of the environmental, climate, and energy issues affecting people living in Canada and around the world. We do this by focusing on research, education, and the effective dissemination of our findings to the public.

Guided by our values, we are advancing this mission in a way that is consistent with a democratic, inclusive vision of Canadian civil society that disrupts long-running historical imbalances. To do this, we strive to advance an intersectional equity lens in all that we do, including program design and outreach. Only through these activities can we begin to act on a decolonial commitment to the process of achieving systems change and environmental justice.

Our Relationship with Greenpeace Canada

There are now two Greenpeace organizations operating in Canada. Greenpeace Canada, which runs campaigns to protect the planet, expose global environmental issues, and develop solutions for a green and peaceful future, was established in 1971. It is part of a global campaigning network maintaining general consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council. To advocate and mobilize effectively, including in ways that charities can’t, Greenpeace Canada is a non-profit rather than a charity. Established in 2020, the Greenpeace Canada Education Fund is a registered charity focused on research, investigations and education.

Our work complements and supports that of Greenpeace Canada, our supporters, and our environmental partners to create persuasive, credible and effective actions that meaningfully engage the public, politicians and the media on the march towards climate justice.

Program Interests

Global Climate Student Strike March in Montreal

Greenspeakers

Greenpeace Canada’s Greenspeakers program empowers Canadian youth to find creative solutions to local and global environmental challenges through educational resources, thought-provoking speakers, and interactive learning sessions. Engaging more than 17,000 students from K-12 and 328 presentations across Canada since 2015, GCEF is now seeking to develop, standardize, and scale the program across the country with a view to engaging 10,000 students a year by 2023-2024.

Fixing Canada’s Broken Food System

Food systems are responsible for a third of global greenhouse emissions. In this investigative research project, GCEF will support Greenpeace Canada to clarify the drivers of biodiversity loss in Canada’s agricultural system, including the identification of national and international supply chain links that contribute to these emissions, incentives to Canada’s meat and dairy processing industries, and the impacts of our consumption on the environment. This will strengthen the ability of Canadians to understand our national food system and meaningfully contribute to the federal government’s agricultural policy framework review in 2023.

GE Crop Circle Action in Canada
Ecological Produce at Farmers Market in Paris

Shifting the Narrative on Canada’s Agricultural Policy

With public debate understandably focused on oil and gas production, industrial agriculture still produces approximately 10% of Canada’s GHGs, with no current national target for reducing emissions. In this project, GCEF will support Greenpeace Canada to empower Canadians to speak in favour of a food policy that reduces nitrogen fertilizer use and meat consumption. This will entail capturing personal stories and experiences from stakeholders across the food supply system, imagining alternative food production systems, and creating resources that support the ability of Canadians to engage their elected officials on policy issues.

Telling the Human Stories of Climate Disasters

In 2021, Canadians experienced heat waves, fires, and flooding causing the death and displacement of thousands. To pursue meaningful climate action, we must bear witness to the human impacts and social effects of climate disasters, and highlight those responsible: fossil fuel companies and enabling governments. In this project, GCEF will empower Greenpeace Canada to pursue on-the-ground investigations of climate disasters in Canada and capture stories that educate the public, media, and decision-makers on the impacts of extreme weather on citizens and communities.

Concert with Igor Levit in the Dannenroeder ForestKonzert von Igor Levit im Dannenröder Wald

Ce que nous faisons

Moins d’une décennie nous sépare des dommages irréversibles causés par les changements climatiques. Malgré le consensus sur la réalité des changements climatiques et la volonté de la majorité des Canadien·nes d’éliminer progressivement les combustibles fossiles, les compagnies pétrolières et gazières – et leurs alliés – font obstacle à toute action significative en faveur du climat. La désinformation brouille notre compréhension collective des enjeux et des solutions à cette crise. Pour y remédier, nous devons combler les écarts de connaissances et combattre le sentiment d’impuissance engendré par cette obstruction continue de la volonté démocratique.

Lancé en 2020, le Fonds d’éducation Greenpeace Canada vise à approfondir notre compréhension collective des enjeux environnementaux, climatiques et énergétiques qui touchent les personnes vivant au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde. Pour ce faire, nous nous concentrons sur la recherche, l’éducation et la diffusion efficace de nos résultats auprès du public.

Guidés par nos valeurs, nous accomplissons cette mission conformément à une vision démocratique et inclusive de la société civile canadienne qui rompt avec les déséquilibres historiques de longue date. Pour ce faire, nous nous efforçons de préconiser une optique d’équité intersectionnelle dans tout ce que nous faisons, y compris au niveau de la conception des programmes et des efforts de sensibilisation. Ce n’est qu’à travers ces activités que nous pouvons articuler un engagement décolonial envers les changements systémiques et la justice environnementale.

Liens rapides

Ce que nous faisons

Équipe de direction et gouvernance

Numéro d’enregistrement d’organisme de bienfaisance
717425516 RR 0001

Notre relation avec Greenpeace Canada

Le Canada accueille deux organisations Greenpeace qui font toutes deux partie du même mouvement mondial. Greenpeace Canada, qui mène des campagnes pour protéger la planète, exposer les enjeux environnementaux mondiaux et élaborer des solutions pour un avenir vert et pacifique, a vu le jour en 1971. Elle fait partie d’un réseau mondial de campagnes qui jouit d’un statut consultatif général auprès du Conseil économique et social des Nations Unies. Afin de pouvoir mener ses activités de plaidoyer et de mobilisation, notamment par des moyens dont les organismes de bienfaisance ne peuvent se prévaloir, Greenpeace Canada est un organisme sans but lucratif plutôt qu’un organisme de bienfaisance. Créé en 2020, le Fonds d’éducation Greenpeace Canada est un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré qui se consacre à la recherche, aux enquêtes et à l’éducation.

Notre travail complète et soutient celui de Greenpeace Canada, de nos sympathisant·es et de nos partenaires environnementaux afin de créer des actions persuasives, crédibles et efficaces auprès du public, des politicien·nes et des médias dans le cadre du mouvement pour la justice climatique.

Les divers volets et objectifs du programme

La grève mondiale des étudiants pour le climat marche à Montréal

Greenspeakers

Le programme Greenspeakers de Greenpeace Canada permet aux jeunes Canadien·nes de trouver des solutions créatives aux enjeux environnementaux locaux et mondiaux grâce à des ressources éducatives, des conférencières et conférenciers stimulants et des séances d’apprentissage interactives. Rejoignant plus de 17 000 élèves de la maternelle à la 12e année et 328 présentations à travers le Canada depuis 2015, le FEGC cherche maintenant à développer, normaliser et étendre le programme à l’échelle du pays dans le but de rejoindre 10 000 élèves par an d’ici 2023-2024.

Réparer le système alimentaire défaillant du Canada

Les systèmes alimentaires sont responsables d’un tiers des émissions mondiales de gaz à effet de serre. Dans ce projet de recherche d’investigation, le FEGC soutiendra Greenpeace Canada pour clarifier les moteurs de la perte de biodiversité dans le système agricole canadien, y compris l’identification des liens de la chaîne d’approvisionnement nationale et internationale qui contribuent à ces émissions, les incitatifs à l’intention des industries canadiennes de transformation de la viande et du lait, et les impacts de notre consommation sur l’environnement. Cela renforcera la capacité des Canadien·nes à comprendre notre système alimentaire national et contribuera de manière significative à l’examen du cadre stratégique pour l’agriculture du gouvernement fédéral en 2023.

Action du cercle de culture GE au Canada
Produits écologiques sur le marché des producteurs à Paris

Changer le discours concernant la politique agricole du Canada

Alors que le débat public se concentre, à juste titre, sur la production de pétrole et de gaz, l’agriculture industrielle produit encore environ 10 % des GES du Canada, et aucun objectif national de réduction des émissions n’existe à l’heure actuelle. Dans ce projet, le FEGC soutiendra Greenpeace Canada pour donner aux Canadien·nes les moyens de s’exprimer en faveur d’une politique alimentaire axée sur la réduction de l’utilisation des engrais azotés et de la consommation de viande. Cela impliquera de recueillir les histoires personnelles et les expériences des parties prenantes du système d’approvisionnement alimentaire, d’imaginer des systèmes alternatifs de production alimentaire et de créer des ressources qui soutiennent la capacité des Canadien·nes à parler des enjeux de politique avec leurs élu·es.

Raconter les histoires humaines des catastrophes climatiques

En 2021, les Canadien·nes ont connu des vagues de chaleur, des incendies et des inondations qui ont causé la mort et le déplacement de milliers de personnes. Pour mener une action climatique significative, nous devons témoigner des impacts humains et des effets sociaux des catastrophes climatiques, et mettre en lumière les responsables : les entreprises de combustibles fossiles et les gouvernements qui facilitent leurs activités. Dans le cadre de ce projet, le FEGC donnera à Greenpeace Canada les moyens de mener des enquêtes sur les catastrophes climatiques au Canada sur le terrain et de recueillir des histoires qui sensibiliseront le public, les médias et les décideur·ses aux impacts des conditions météorologiques extrêmes sur les citoyen·nes et les communautés.

Concert with Igor Levit in the Dannenroeder ForestConcert d'Igor Levit dans la forêt de Dannenroeder